25 Following


Cricket Australia Update on India’s Tour of Australia

Australia’s tour against India will begin from November 21 and will consist of three T20Is, four Tests and three ODIs. The series will end on January 21.

David Warner and Steve Smith are serving a one-year ban for ball-tampering during the team’s previous visit to South Africa. While Rookie Cameron Bancroft was suspended for nine months for their involvement in the ball-tampering scandal.

Cricket Australia will not reconsider reducing the ban on Steve Smith, David Warner and Cameron Bancroft in the ball-tampering case despite India vs Australia series next month.

Skipper Steve Smith and his Deputy David Warner were punished with a one-year international ban while rookie Cameron Bancroft was suspended for nine months by Cricket Australia in March 2018 for their role in the ball-tampering scandal in South Africa.

The scandal involved these three players conspiring to use sandpaper to illegally alter the shape of the ball in the third Test against South Africa in Cape Town.

The Australian Cricketers Association (ACA) termed the punishment on the trio harsh and called for a reconsideration but CA chairman David Peever remained fixed and turned down the appeal.

David Peever told that sanctions were carried out and imposed by the board after a very full and thoughtful process. So the sanctions stand. He told that as chairman of the board of CA, he accepts responsibility for what happened in South Africa, but he is also very confident that they are positioned to move forward from here.

He further told that they have learned many lessons and of course there has been a lot going on since then. Both within the playing group and within the organization itself to move things forward.

The players union president Greg Dyer said that bans imposed on Warner, Smith, and Bancroft for their role in the Newlands ball-tampering scandal should be re-examined in light of systemic failings raised by the independent reviews into CA.

The bans on Smith and Warner will continue till April 2019, while Bancroft’s suspension ends in January. On the other hand, Team India has announced its Squad for T20I and Test.

India’s T20I squad as announced includes Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Rishabh Pant, Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Dinesh Karthik, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Washington Sundar, Krunal Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yadav and Khaleel Ahmed.

India’s Test Squad as announced includes Virat Kohli, Murali Vijay, Lokesh Rahul, Prithvi Shaw, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Hanuma Vihari, Rohit Sharma, Rishabh Pant, Parthiv Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah and Bhuvneshwar Kumar.