25 Following


Chris Gayle: The only batsman to hit a six off the first ball of a Test match

Christopher or Chris Gayle is a Jamaican cricketer who plays international cricket for the West Indies. He was West Indies Team Captain for Test from 2007 to 2010. Chris Gayle holds many records across all three formats of the game.

Chris Gayle is one of the greatest batsmen in limited-overs cricket and is regarded as the best T20 batsman. He is widely known as one of the most destructive batsmen in the history of the game, particularly in Twenty20.

Gayle became the first player to hit a six off the first ball of a Test match. He is well known for hitting sixes. In the history of Test cricket, no cricketer has ever hit a six off the first ball of a Test match. He achieved this feat against Bangladesh in 2012 off debutant Sohag Gazi.

Chris is one of only four players who has scored two triple centuries at Test level. Chris Gayle scored 317 against South Africa in 2005 and 333 against Sri Lanka in 2010. Apart from him Brian Lara of the West Indies, Donald Bradman of Australia and Virender Sehwag of India are the only batsmen to reach 300 more than once in test cricket.

Gayle became the first batsman to score a double century in World Cup. He scored 200 off 138 balls against Zimbabwe during the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015. He finished on 215 runs, which again is the record for highest score in a World Cup but it was broken by Martin Guptill.

Chris Gayle is one of the six players to score a double century in ODIs. In March 2016, Gayle became only the second player after Brendon McCullum to hit two Twenty20 International hundreds.

Not only this, Chris represents the Kings XI Punjab in the Indian Premier League. Indian Cricketer Yuvraj Singh and Jamaican Cricketer Chris Gayle were the part of the Kings XI squad in the Indian Premier League 2018 after which their friendship off the field has increased.

Chris also plays in the Karachi Kings in the Pakistan Super League, the Melbourne Renegades in the Big Bash League, the Rangpur Riders in the Bangladesh Premier League, and the Balkh Legends in the Afghanistan Premier League.